NEBOSH Fire Certificate

Course Information

  • Course Code: TCC021
  • Duration: 6 weeks x 7 hours
  • Validated by: The National Exam Board in Occup Safety & Health
  • Price: £615.00

This qualification is designed for anyone who has fire safety responsibilities in a small to medium sized organisation. It provides the knowledge and understanding, when combined with relevant experience, to carry out a “suitable and sufficient” fire risk assessment, as well as embed good practice in the workplace.




What will I study?

The Fire Safety Certificate (FSC) will allow you to:

  • ensure your organisation meets its fire safety responsibilities;
  • understand the risk to people and buildings from fire and explosion hazards;
  • recognise what control measures will be required to prevent or mitigate the effects of fire and explosion;
  • recognise what should be included in emergency plans and what should be done to ensure the effective evacuation of buildings; and
  • prepare a fire risk assessment.

What are the benefits for your employer?

A number of high-profile devasting fire incidents in recent years have prompted organisations to rethink their fire risk management policies. When you achieve the NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety, you will have the knowledge, skills and understanding to help your employer to prevent fires from happening and minimise fire impact if they do.

In the long run, this could not only save lives but save your employer the huge costs associated with a major fire such as loss of business, repairs to buildings and equipment as well as those associated with criminal prosecution and claims for compensation. Even a minor fire at a key production stage can mean very large losses for individual organisations.

Investing in and training up existing personnel can result in considerable savings that are currently expended on external Fire Risk Assessors or consultants.

Qualification type and recognition by professional bodies

NEBOSH qualifications are categorised as Vocationally-Related Qualifications (VRQs) in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. VRQs provide the knowledge and practical skills required for particular job roles through a structured study-based training programme, which combines the assessment of knowledge and understanding in written examinations with practical application of learning in the workplace.


VRQs are a popular type of qualification because they are nationally recognised, flexible and offer routes for progression to employment or further study

This qualification is recognised by:

  • International Institute of Risk and Safety Management
  • Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH)
  • Institute of Fire Prevention Officers (IFPO)
Entry Requirements

What are the entry requirements?

There are no specific pre-requisites but a good command of English language is essential in order to take advantage of the full learner experience.

It is essential that individuals allocate a minimum of 5 hours self-directed study per week.


How will I be assessed?

Achieving the qualification at Blackburn College (How will I be assessed)

There are six classroom-based, tutor led taught input sessions following the six units within the Nebosh course specification.  These will be delivered on one day per week over six consecutive weeks. This methodology enables candidates to consolidate their learning prior to moving onto the next unit. The units are cross matched with the National Occupational Standards for Fire Risk Assessors

The FSC has two-unit assessments; you must achieve a ‘Pass’ in both units to be awarded the qualification.

The first unit is an Open Book Exam which you will have 24 hours to complete from the comfort of your own home.

For the second unit you will complete a practical assessment in the form of a Fire Risk Assessment.  This will draw on the knowledge of common workplace fire hazards covered within the study syllabus/guide and the process of fire risk assessment following PAS79 methodology.

Both assessments will be marked externally by NEBOSH. 

You will have five years to complete your qualification. The five-year period starts from the date you passed your first successful unit (we call this the ‘declaration date’).

For further information please also refer to NEBOSH Terms and Conditions which can be found on the Nebosh website at -

What can I do next?

We have offer a wide range of health & safety courses, click here for further information.

Downlaod our NEBOSH, IOSH and First Aid Course Leaflet 

For more information

For more information about this course, contact our specialist team on 01254 29 25 00 or email